The Alabama Historical Commission is the state agency charged with safeguarding Alabama’s historic buildings and sites. Created by an act of the state legislature in 1966, it consists of twenty-two appointed members who represent a broad cross section of Alabamians.

For more information about contacting the Commissioners please call Stacey Little at 334-230-2697.


Dr. Jim Day, University of Montevallo


Elizabeth Stevens, University of South Alabama


General Walter Givhan, Troy University


Steve Murray, Alabama Department of Archives & History


Ann Bedsole


Trey Granger


Dale Townsend

Historic Chattahoochee Commission

Karen Pittman

Business Council of Alabama

William F. Denson III

Alabama Historical Association

Dr. Ralph Draughon, Jr.  

University of Alabama

Dr. Shirley Foster


American Institute of Architects

Eddie Griffith

Alabama Department of Conservation & Natural Resources

N. Gunter Guy, Jr.

State of Alabama Building Commission

Frank Barnes

Alabama Farmers Federation

Michelle Thompson

Auburn University

Dr. Karen Rogers

Alabama Department of Tourism

Lee Sentell

Alabama Archaeological Society

Dr. Craig Sheldon

Black Heritage Council


Governor of Alabama

Honorable Robert Bentley/Baker Allen

Lieutenant Governor of Alabama

Honorable Kay Ivey

Speaker of the House

Honorable Mac McCutcheon